Wednesday, 27 May 2015

The Final 2 - Our Nash Blogging Team is complete!

Yma rydyn ni'n cwrdd â'r ddau aelodau olaf o'r dîm Blogio NYOW / Here we meet the final two members of the NYOW Blogging Team: Osian and Isaac

Hi my name is Osian Jones, and I'm a cellist from Ystradgynlais. I'm going to be going on the Nash for my second year this year and I cannot wait for it. 

At the moment I'm revising for my final GCSEs and after that for the eisteddfod. After the summer I will be going to Wells Cathedral School as a music scholar...if all goes to plan with GCSEs.

One thing I hope to do is to really push forward in my baroque playing as that is my favourite period of music. Although i am constantly changing my favourite piece, at the moment it is either La Folia by Corelli, or the J.S Bach triple violin concerto. I am a big fan of drama and thoroughly enjoy taking part in musical theatre and enjoy my GCSE performances.

Hi there, my name is Isaac, I'm a violinist from Swansea, and this will be my third Nash course.

My interests include: collecting vinyls (can't beat them); filter coffee; convincing myself that I'm an art enthusiast; cooking; and cycling, albeit infrequently (little and rarely is my mantra). I'm sounding pretty unassuming at the moment aren't I?

Talking music, my favourite pieces/songs would have to be Rhapsody in Blue- because who can hate Gershwin?- along with Echoes,  a Pink Floyd favourite. My musical taste is probably best described as Wagnerian-meets-hippie with a casual interest in jazz, which sounds a bit like your last nightmare; we're a rare breed...   

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

Tim Blogio Nash 2015 / Nash 2015 Blogging Team

Yma rydyn ni'n cwrdd â'r brawd a chwaer, Grace a Sam, - y ddau aelod nesaf o Dîm Blogio 'Nash 2015

Here we meet brother and sister Grace and Sam - the next two members of the Nash 2015 Blogging Team

My name is Grace Buttler, I’m 21 and from Cardiff.  Currently I’m in my third year studying violin at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. This is my seventh and final year in the Nash and I have no idea what I’ll do with my summer next year as it’s been a part of my lift for so long! My two favourite hobbies at the moment are sewing and yoga. I find it hard to choose just one piece of music as my favourite, but I love anything by Shostakovich, especially his 5th Symphony. I also keep a regular blog and am currently in training for my second half marathon.

My name is Sam and I am an oboist. I am from Cardiff but I am currently studying music at the University of Oxford. This will be my third year on NYOW. Outside of music, I really enjoy cooking, especially baking. My favourite piece of music is probably Shostakovich’s 5th Symphony, however I think that I have a very varied taste in music. An interesting fact about me is that for my 18th birthday, my sister got me a birthday card signed by Sue Perkins.

Friday, 15 May 2015

Meet more Nash Bloggers!

Dyma aelodau diweddaraf Tîm Blogio CGIC 2015 / Here we meet the latest members of the NYOW 2015 Blogging Team!

Hi! My name is Rhiannon and I’m a trombonist from Monmouth. I’ve been a member of the Nash since 2012, and can’t wait for my fourth summer residency this year! I’m currently spending most of my time revising for A Levels in English Literature, German and Biology, although I seem to remember a “social life” in the distant past… Hopefully in September I’ll be going to the RNCM to study on their Joint Course with Manchester Uni (depending on my grades).

My favourite piece of music is probably Shofukan by Snarky Puppy; although it’s a little clichéd, it’s definitely my favourite track. But I also love studying the development of Russian music, so I’m really excited to play the Rite of Spring this summer!

I’m looking forward to being on the Nash blogging team this residency, and I’m excited to share the Nash 2015 course with every reader - Till next time! Rhiannon ♫

Hello! My name is Gwen James. I’m 17 years old and I play the violin. I’m from Newtown in North Powys, but I am currently studying in Brecon. My hobbies include music (as you would probably expect!) and I am also a massive rugby fan! When I’m home I spend every weekend that I can watching Newtown 1st team playing, which can be a painful experience at times!
This will be my third year with the Nash – I can’t wait! The course is hard work but is also great fun, it’s definitely one of the highlights of my year! My favourite piece of music to play would be In the Hall of the Mountain King from the Peer Gynt suite by Grieg, based on Norwegian fantasies. I first played this piece a number of years ago with North Powys Youth Orchestra.
Once upon a time, at the age of 4, my aim in life was to become a potato. However, as I’m sure you can imagine, my aims have now changed slightly. Studying Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Music A Levels has inspired me to become a French Fry.

Hi! My name is Megan Jackson. I'm 17 years old, and I play percussion. I live in the Vale of Glamorgan, and have done for the past 13 years. This is my second time with the Nash, having been on it once before back in 2013. I had a brilliant time then, and can't wait until the summer for this course, which is sure to be amazing. I love everything musical; listening and performing. The orchestral piece I enjoy the most is Jupiter: The Planets, having recently watched BBC National Orchestra of Wales perform this. However, being a Disney fan, my favourite piece of music is 'Here I am' from the film 'Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron'. 

My hobbies include music ( which you've probably guessed by now), and rock climbing/bouldering. I really enjoy it, as it's both a physical and mental challenge. It also means I'm not scared of heights!

My fascinating fact is that I was in the series of "Torchwood- Children of Earth", when I was in Yr 6.

Thursday, 14 May 2015

Meet the Nash Bloggers - NYOW 2015

   As we make the final preparations for the National Youth Orchestra of Wales 2015 Residency and Concert Tour, some of our wonderful members have agreed to be part of a Blogging Team that will offer readers with a 'behind the scenes' look at the preparations, rehearsals and everything Nash related this summer.

   We thought we'd ask them a few questions to get them started and so here we introduce the first members of the team:

       Name: Carolyn Burton
       Age: 19

       Instrument: Ffidil / Violin

       Where you're from: Ynys Môn ond ar hyn o bryd yn astudio Cerdd ym Mhrifysgol Birmingham. / Anglesey but I'm currently studying Music at the University of Birmingham.
       Hobbies: Ar wahân i gerddoriaeth, dwi'n mwynhau chwarae chwaraeon raced fel tenis a badminton! / Apart from music, I really enjoy playing racket sports like tennis and badminton!

      Number of years in the Nash: Hon fydd fy 4ydd flwyddyn ar Nash (dwi'n mynd yn hen!) /  This will be my 4th year on Nash (getting old!)

      Favourite Piece of Music: Cwestiwn mor anodd!! Fel arfer dwi'n hoffi darnau o gerddoriaeth dwi 'di chwarae fy hun oherwydd mae nhw bob amser yn dod a atgofion gwych yn ôl yn ogystal â bod yn ddarnau gwych o gerddoriaeth. Os 'dwi'n cael dewis un darn yn unig, yna mae'n debyg y byddwn yn dewis Danzon rhif 2 gan Marquez. / This is such a hard question!! My favourite music is usually things I have played myself as they always bring back great memories as well as being great pieces of music. If I had to pick one piece only then I would probably choose Danzon no.2 by Marquez.

      Fascinating fact about yourselves: Dwi'n mwynhau dysgu ieithoedd! Dwi'n tairieithog, yn rhugl yn y Gymraeg a'r Saesneg ac yn rhugl yn llafar Thai. Mi 'nes i hefyd astudio Almaeneg hyd at Lefel A ac rydw i bellach yn gwneud modiwl o Eidaleg i ddechreuwyr ym Mhrifysgol Birmingham - er fy mod i'n fyfyriwr BMus Cerdd! / I love learning languages! I’m trilingual, being fluent in both English and Welsh and fluent in spoken Thai. I also studied German up to A-level and I’m now doing a module of beginner Italian at Birmingham University – even though I’m a BMus Music student!

      Enw / Name: Elain Rhys        
    Oed / Age: 16        
    Offeryn / Instrument: Telyn / Harp        
    Lle dwi'n byw / Where I'm From: Bodedern, Sir Fôn / Anglesey
    Diddordebau / Hobbies: Chwarae'r delyn a'r piano (yn amlwg), canu, cyfansoddi, ysgrifennu creadigol a mynd am dro /  
    Playing the harp and piano (obviously), singing, composing, creative writing and going for long walks

    Hannes y CGIC / NYOW History: Dwi'n newydd i'r Nash / I'm a 'Nash Newbie'
    Fy hoff ddarn o gerddoriaeth Favourite piece of music: Vivaldi - Y Pedwar Tymor (yn enwedig y Gwanwyn) /  Vivaldi - The Four Seasons (especially Spring)
    Ffaith ddiddorolFascinating fact: Dw i wedi chwarae'r delyn a chanu yn y Neuadd Albert gyda Chôr Ieuenctid Môn yn 2009 - profiad bythgofiadwy! / 
     I've played the harp and sung in the Royal Albert Hall with Côr Ieuectid Môn in 2009 - unforgettable experience! 

Name: Emily Jones
     Age: 17

     Instrument: Violin
     Where I'm From: Swansea
     Hobbies: Cycling, Music, Reading and YouTube

     NYOW History: This is my second year

   Favourite piece of music: It’s impossible to decide!

   Fascinating fact: I was in Hunky Dory the film with my school choir... It’s probably my only claim to fame 

Hi! My name is Emily Topping, I’m 17 years old from Cardiff, I play the bassoon, and I’m a complete Nash newbie!

My hobbies include swimming, Zumba, Bokwa, running, reading, and spending time with friends and family.

My favourite piece, as a bassoonist, is The Sorcerer’s Apprentice!

And as a fascinating fact, I recently cut off 19.5 inches of my hair to give to charity to be made into real hair wigs for children with cancer. 

    Hello everyone! My name is Hedydd and I am from Rhondda Cynon Taf.  I am 20 years old and this will be my third year as a viola player on the Nash. I love baking as a form of procrastination! My favourite piece of music has to be Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody and I also share a birthday with Rimsky-Korsakov.

    Helo bawb! Hedydd ydw i ac rydw i’n byw yn Rhondda Cynon Taf.  Rydw i’n 20 mlwydd oed a hon fydd fy nhrydedd flwyddyn yn chwarae’r fiola yn y Gerddorfa.  Rydw i’n hoffi pobi fel dull o ohirio gwneud gwaith!  Fy hoff ddarn o gerddoriaeth yw Bohemian Rhapsody gan Queen ac rydw i hefyd yn cael fy mhen-blwydd ar yr un diwrnod â Rimsky-Korsakov.